Outside, looking in:

I’ve been standing outside for years, looking in and up to the person I claim to be.

Is that me?

Do I stand so small and you, my addiction, so tall?

Do I always have that look on my face, like my mind’s adrift in some other place?

And really, when was the last time I saw your face?

What led my path astray?

Was that knowing you’d be taken away?

Or was it that knowing that’d I’d be the one putting you into that position,

Oh, my bitter sweet addiction.

When I look at you, it feels like gold pours over me and I am deeply in love…

Drowning my worries in a senseless and toxic river, that’s been calling my name ever since you left.

How can I ignore the sirens call?

Fully knowing I’d take the fall, plundering deeper into a sorrow my reality cannot fix.

I am lost in the river Styx.

Why did it have to happen and why does my mind always keep taking me back to this moment, no matter how hard I try to bury it?

I’ve been standing outside for years, looking in and up to the person I claim to be,

And I’ll never be free, now that’ve gone.

Leave a Reply

