Embers

The hills had eyes when you told me you loved me,
But I knew,
You would never let me love you.
You were a poison I kept on drinking,
Knowing nothing could kill me like you do.
We used to be like fire and water,
Like the wind and sea,
Till I set myself free –
Thinking I could see,
Better shores.
As I moved on,
All I could see was the rolling hills and your eyes,
Looking at me from the skies.
I thought I left you behind,
But deep in the shadows of my heart,
You cling like a cancer.
How can I ever get better when you’re always on my mind?

Leave a Reply

