Eternity

I could feel your heart breaking,
it broke out of your ribcage and landed in my arms,
and I watched you gasping for air, for a sense of understanding.
I told you the time – and I told you I would love you until the end of it, and you told me you’d remain here. I would give you half of me, just so you could feel alive as I do, and would use my tears like a glue to put back all those shattered pieces of your ribs,
just so I could take you back to a place where nothing affected us.
And you’d sit there innumerably smoking,
while the city’s neon lights,
green and flashing
would reflect unto your face and we would both understand,
Eternity.
Leave a Reply

