Liquid World.

The neon lights flicker as we drive by,
The cars humming lullaby tells me not to cry,
But when the words ‘I miss you’ became real,
I lost all my senses and could not feel.
There’s an emptiness that’s taken shelter in my heart,
When you were once here you filled that part.
Now I choke on guilty thoughts,
of how this could have been avoided, could have been caught.
This pain was locked in place where no light existed, and I –
I resisted and resisted,
fuelling its stomach till it swallowed me whole,
taking me beneath the waves to place I never wanted to go.

2 thoughts on “Liquid World.

Leave a Reply

